Поиск по сайту

 RUS  |   ENG 

THE PLACE OF EXECUTION OF THE JEWS OF DUKORA SHTETL

The place of execution of the Jews of Dukora shtetl in November 1941 is located behind the bridge over the Svisloch River, between Svisloch and the road Smilovichi-Dukora-Rudensk. The monument was set up in 1960.

Vasily Nikitovich Svistun.
Vasily Nikitovich
Svistun.

The story told by Vasily Nikitovich Svistun, born 1927, local history expert.

I was born in Dukora, finished seven-year school. There lived many Jews in the shtetl, about five hundred people. There was an elementary Jewish school. Starting from the fifths grade, children went to comprehensive school. I remember a small girl in our class, Anya Shusterman. As for the surnames of the others, I forgot. The class teacher was a good organizer. We did everything together, without paying attention to nationality.

According to not really accurate data, Jews settled in the shtetl in the 1850s. Before that date there had lived many Tatars. Being in debt, our landowner had to give part of his property to another landowner, the grandfather of composer Monyushko. When the land was transferred, the Tatars left for Smilovichi and its surrounding territories. These lands also belonged to Monyushko, and almost half the population was the Tatars. Jews took the place of the Tatars. The Jewish school was opened in the late 19th century.

The Tatars were gardeners and leatherworkers. The Jews handled all the trade and craft. There was a barbershop, shoemakers, blacksmiths, tailors. There was a synagogue. Nothing’s left. There is a Jewish cemetery and the place of execution.

Only a small part of Jews was evacuated. Some men, of course, were in the army. The rest remained in the shtetl.

When the Germans occupied the shtetl, the Jews were herded together. The houses were surrounded by the fence and guarded by the police. The Jews were forbidden to leave the territory and they didn’t work. The Jews were settled in the ghetto in August, and on October 10 they were shot.

The place of execution of the Jews of Dukora shtetl in November 1941. The place of execution of the Jews of Dukora shtetl in November 1941.
The place of execution of the Jews of Dukora shtetl in November 1941.

Four trucks with soldiers arrived to carry out shooting. Nobody knows exactly whether the Germans or the policemen did that, but they say that part of the soldiers who arrived was a punitive Lithuanian detachment from Minsk.

They came, surrounded the ghetto, kicked out all the Jews into the street and convoyed them to the river. There the machine guns had already been prepared. The Jews carried children in their arms. They walked quietly, I would say.

They went for about a kilometer to the place of execution. Then Jews were brought into line and shot.

All the Jews were killed. Later, the Germans shot the wounded. They made the Belarusians bury the dead bodies. It’s not known how many people were killed. About four hundred. Nobody made lists of the killed.

One Jew, named Kuhel, aged 82, tried to escape. Two girls of six or eight followed him. They ran away into the woods. On the very edge of the woods there were special buildings for drying flax. They were hiding there. Everybody knew that. People gave them food and didn’t disclose them. They lived there for two weeks. Kuhel surrendered himself. He came with two girls to the commandant’s office. The commander gave the order to shoot all three of them.

They were taken about a hundred meters away from the commandant's office, put on the edge of the pit and killed. One girl was killed with a struck of a shovel on the head. The second girl tried to run, but was shot.

Shuhman from the Ryazhin village was hiding and didn’t get into the ghetto. After the mass shooting he went to the partisans. He died there.

The monument was set up by Jews in about 1956. The collective farm Chairman, Abram Moiseevich (I can’t remember his name), dealt with the matter. In Minsk Jews from Dukora shtetl collected funds.

Recorded and photos
by Alexander Litin

Еврейское местечко под Минском


Jewish settlements in Minsk region

MinskBerezinoBobrBorisov DolginovoDukoraDzerzhinsk Ivenets Myadel NesvizhObchuga Pogost Rakov Seliba Slutsk Svir Uhvaly Vileika

© 2009–2010 Center «My shtetl»
Reprinting permitted ONLY to Internet editions and ONLY with an active link to website «My shtetl»
Email us: mishpoha@yandex.ru

Поиск по сайту

 RUS  |   ENG 

Дукора в «Российской еврейской энциклопедии»


МЕСТО РАССТРЕЛА ЕВРЕЕВ МЕСТЕЧКА ДУКОРА

Место расстрела евреев местечка Дукора в ноябре 1941 г. находится за мостом через Свислочь между Свислочью и дорогой Смиловичи-Дукора-Руденск. Памятник установлен в 1960-х гг.

Василий Никитович Свистун.
Василий Никитович
Свистун.

Рассказывает Свистун Василий Никитович, 1927 г.р., краевед

Я родился в Дукорах, окончил семилетку. В местечке было много евреев, где-то полтысячи человек. Была начальная еврейская школа, а с пятого класса – общая. Помню, в нашем классе была невысокая девочка Аня Шустерман, остальных фамилии забыл. Классный учитель был хорошим организатором. Все делали вместе, на национальность мы не обращали внимания.

По не очень точным данным евреи у нас поселились в 1850-х гг., до этого было много татар. За долги наш помещик вынужден был часть своего имения отдать другому помещику – дедушке композитора Монюшко. При передаче этих земель татары ушли в Смиловичи и их окрестности, которые принадлежали Монюшко, и где почти половина населения была татар. Место татар у нас заняли евреи. Еврейская школа открылась в конце 19 века.

Татары были огородниками и кожевенниками. Евреи взяли в свои руки всю торговлю и ремесло. Была парикмахерская, сапожники, кузнецы, портные. Была синагога. Ничего не сохранилось. Есть еврейское кладбище и место расстрела.

Ушла в эвакуацию очень незначительная часть евреев, наиболее информированные. Часть мужчин, конечно, была в армии. Остальные здесь остались

Когда пришли немцы, в первые же дни всех евреев согнали вместе, огородили забором дома. Поставили полицейских. Разрешали евреям выходить. Они ходили, просили хлеба. Никаких работ не было. Заперли евреев в гетто августе месяце, а 10 октября расстреляли.

Место расстрела евреев местечка Дукора. Место расстрела евреев местечка Дукора.
Место расстрела евреев местечка Дукора в ноябре 1941 г.

На расстрел приехали четыре грузовых машины с солдатами. Никто точно не знает, стреляли немцы или полицаи, но говорят, что часть приехавших – это карательный литовский отряд из Минска.

Приехали, окружили, всех выгнали на улицу, повели, погнали к речке. Там уже были приготовлены пулеметы. Детей несли на руках. Шли спокойно, я бы сказал.

Километр где-то вели до места расстрела. Поставили, открыли огонь.

Всех евреев застрелили. Потом добивали тех, кто был раненый. Взяли белорусов и заставили закапывать. Сколько всего погибло, точно неизвестно. Примерно 400 человек. Списки никто не составлял.

Один еврей по фамилии Кухель, ему 82 года было, рванул бежать. За ним две девочки лет шести-восьми. Они убежали в кусты. На самом краю леса там были «ёмни» – сооружения для сушки льна. Они там спрятались. Все об этом знали. Люди их подкармливали и не выдавали. Там они прожили недели две. Старик Кухель сдался с девочками сам. Пришел в комендатуру. Комендант дал приказ расстрелять всех троих.

Метров сто от комендатуры их отвели. Поставили на край ямы и убили. Девочку фашист убил, ударив лопатой по голове. Вторая рванулась бежать, и ее застрелили.

Шухман из деревни Ряжин, который был в примах у жены, прятался и не попал в гетто. После массового расстрела ушел в партизаны. Он там погиб.

Памятник ставили евреи в 1956 году примерно. Занимался этим председатель колхоза Абрам Моисеевич (фамилии не помню). В Минске дукорские евреи средства собирали.

Записал и фото
Александр Литин

Еврейское местечко под Минском


Местечки Минской области

МинскБерезиноБобрБогушевичиБорисовВилейкаВишневоВоложинГородеяГородокГрескГрозовоДзержинскДолгиновоДукораДулебы ЗембинИвенецИльяКлецкКопыльКрасноеКривичиКрупки КуренецЛениноЛогойскЛошаЛюбаньМарьина ГоркаМолодечноМядельНалибокиНарочьНесвижНовый СверженьОбчугаПлещеницы Погост (Березинский р-н) Погост (Солигорский р-н)ПтичьПуховичи РаковРованичиРубежевичиРуденскСелибаСвирьСвислочьСлуцкСмиловичиСмолевичи СтаробинСтарые ДорогиСтолбцыТалькаТимковичиУздаУречьеУхвалы ХолопеничиЧервеньЧерневкаШацк

RSS-канал новостей сайта www.shtetle.co.ilRSS-канал новостей сайта www.shtetle.co.il

© 2009–2010 Центр «Мое местечко»
Перепечатка разрешена ТОЛЬКО интернет изданиям, и ТОЛЬКО с активной ссылкой на сайт «Мое местечко»
Ждем Ваших писем: mishpoha@yandex.ru